For Christmas I got ‘Love to Knit’ by Bronwyn Lowenthal and I really like some of the patterns it has. They’re all really simple and pretty fashionable patterns and they’re geared towards younger knitters. The only problem that I’ve found with the book so far is that all the patterns are only given in one size, meaning you would have to alter the patterns if you aren’t the ‘right’ size. This is the first project I tried out of this book and I’ve already cast on for my second project (before casting on for the second sock, oops).

 I think this sock looks cute. It reminds me of the socks that I used to wear when I was really small. It’s supposed to have two buttons at the top to hold it closed but I haven’t gotten around to that yet, I haven’t even weaved the ends in. It is knit flat in one piece, with one seam going around the foot and up the side of the leg. This means that the pattern for each foot is different so the seam is on the outside of the leg. I used Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Fisherman and US size 2 (2.75mm) needles. The yarn suggested was a sport-weight yarn, such as Rowan Pure Wool DK so I thought that the sock might end up a bit bigger with the thicker yarn. I was wrong. It actually ended up smaller so now the sock is pretty tight.

I don’t know if I will cast on for the second sock but this project was fast and fun to knit. A sport-weight yarn would have been much better for this sock though.